THE BROWNS BOARD

Great Wishes and Small

My very first original music was released in 1982 with the self-titled EASY STREET BAND.  Nearly 40 years later I’m happy to announce my fourth solo album GREAT WISHES AND SMALL.  Here Ive reunited with my old pal and bandmate Donny Thompson (who mixed, engineered co-produced and played some of the instruments) for 13 new recordings. Via digital studio wizardry we assembled many close friends, including  former Mustang Sally Sarah Wilfong and Brigid’s Cross Paul Baker on fiddles, Easy Street Band guitarist  Gary Bones Bonam and Saxophonist Andy Henkel and pianist Terry Fairfax from the Asbury All-Stars . This piece includes some of my thoughts and some comments music professionals, besides it doesn't matter what I think, it matters what you think and at my age I wouldn’t put out something that I didn’t love. As a writer I sometimes go back to unfinished songs and rework the lyrics and structure. For instance, after nearly 40 years Jesse morphed from a quick melody into a spiritual allegory crossing the globe from Missouri to Galilee. The variation in styles is planned and intended to make this collection more a book of short stories than a novel. (Reminiscent of the Robert Martin taboo about putting two songs in the same key together in a set list)
Andy Forsyth at beachfront radio says it’s “well rounded collection of various styles of music from Irish to Folk to Rock to Trop Rock. His originals sound like they could be classics from the past and his covers seem like they could have been his songs.  Two Thumbs Up!!!" 
“Thanks to some slide guitar, the twangy “(They Call Her) the Evenstar” [another resurrection] could pass as the Jayhawks, and with its husky vocals and contemplative lyrics, album closer “We Were There” sounds like something the late Warren Zevon might’ve written.” Jeff Niesel Scene