THE BROWNS BOARD

My Experience with Analytics in the 80s...

Flugel

In the past, I've shared I coached football at the high school level in Upstate NY.  Anyway, the last 2 years of that I was a Head Freshman Football Coach - which also meant I was an Assistant Varsity Football Coach.  More specifically, the week didn't end with the game I coached. It ended with the game I scouted (the next week's opponent for the Varsity).  I got handed a thick pamphlet with base formations on offense, downs, distances and gains.  Each play, I completed the rest of the diagram/formation around the 5 OL and QB that were only pictured as well as where the play went before filling in the result of the play.  On defense, there was even more to diagram since coaches liked to vary there fronts.  Let's just say, the time constraints between plays kept our eyes freakin busy but we did it as a trio to make it as efficient as possible.

In any event, I was told all that was expected from our staff was to just document each play and that the Varsity Staff would organize it all at their meeting prior to the next week of preparation.  After the very 1st game of this - I felt like it would have been a huge dis-service to just leave a bunch of diagrams someone else has to organize and sort.  As a has been OL, I've always felt you have to FINISH your assignment.   So I did it.   FWIW, I got paid great cake so I didn't mind it.  In the process, I learned some great stuff around the offenses and defenses I was raised in.  Aside from that, some of our future opponents had to use the same offensive systems as their varsity teams so it also educated us.  This has always been a game where you get out of it what you put into it. The Head Varsity Coach called the AD and raved about the summary report of tendencies, strengths and collateral information that should be pertinent to the upcoming match-up.