THE BROWNS BOARD

Imagine Saquon at 1 and Mayfield at 4

Kvoethe

• Replies 93
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Never a chance Mayfield would be there. I can't prove it, but I have a suspicion many other teams had Mayfield number 1. I'm by no means a draft expert (duh), but even I was proclaiming Baker the far and away best choice before the draft. 

But Geez, having Baker AND Saquon? Yo! 

But we somehow got Baker, Chubb, and Denzel Ward. The Corbett pick remains a mystery for now, but gets a pass because he hasn't played much. The real "imagine" scenario for me is daydreaming about drafting Bradley Chubb at #4. As much as I ADORE Denzel Ward, the concussions are terrifying me. We absolutely need a rusher opposite Myles Garrett, and Ogbah isn't going to be that guy. Chubb and Garrett would've been nasty. If Ward shakes off the injuries, then we're good to go. Hopefully he does. 

23 minutes ago, jiggins7919 said:

Never a chance Mayfield would be there. I can't prove it, but I have a suspicion many other teams had Mayfield number 1. I'm by no means a draft expert (duh), but even I was proclaiming Baker the far and away best choice before the draft. 

But Geez, having Baker AND Saquon? Yo! 

But we somehow got Baker, Chubb, and Denzel Ward. The Corbett pick remains a mystery for now, but gets a pass because he hasn't played much. The real "imagine" scenario for me is daydreaming about drafting Bradley Chubb at #4. As much as I ADORE Denzel Ward, the concussions are terrifying me. We absolutely need a rusher opposite Myles Garrett, and Ogbah isn't going to be that guy. Chubb and Garrett would've been nasty. If Ward shakes off the injuries, then we're good to go. Hopefully he does. 

Yeah, tough to prove but 4 QB's went in the top 10. There's literally no way to confirm a team like the cardinals didn't love mayfield and would have sniped him before our pick. Sure it's a fun thought, but given the draft results you took Mayfield 100 out of 100 times with that pick.