THE BROWNS BOARD

Rocky Mountain National Park

TexasAg1969

I have been hiking this park since around 1974 on a yearly basis since either my parents and now my brother have had homes in Estes Park since that time. I lived in Greeley and Cheyenne for 8 years in the 70's & 80's and walked so many of it's trails my daughter gave me a gift of trail patches for my backpack, but just too damn many to sew on. I included this video to show you one of my favorite that starts near Bear Lake and is almost a 10 mile round trip starting around 9,000 ft. and goes up around 11,000. I always pack on a pair of lightweight snowshoes for this hike because even in July (I'm going there in about 3 weeks) there is unmelted snow between Mills Lake and Black Lake, a part of the trail with spectacular views. This will be the first year I have ever taken a lightweight portable one time use oxygen supplement along just in case. Since I usually spend the first week on daily hikes at lower level trails I have never needed that before, but I have to admit that I'm no spring chicken @ 71 so better safe than sorry. The last few years I've always carried aspirin to chew on in case I get any sudden chest pains.

This year I also plan a hike on the other side of the divide on a trail I've never been on to an old gold miners ghost town called Lulu City (even has a cemetery). This walks up the headwaters of the Colorado River. That is a less used trail and one more likely to see a lot of wildlife as in elk and maybe even a bear or two. I figured I better do that one now since I've always wanted to, but just never got around to it since it's about a two hour drive over the divide to get to the trailhead.  

Here's a video of the Black Lake hike.