Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Lindor wins 2016 Gold Glove, and amazing history

Recommended Posts



Lindor earns Rawlings Gold Glove Award


Press Release | November 8th, 2016

Second Shortstop in Club History to win Rawlings Gold Glove


Cleveland Indians SS FRANCISCO LINDOR has been named the 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award recipient among American League shortstops. Lindor is just the second Indians shortstop to earn a Rawlings Gold Glove, joining OMAR VIZQUEL, who won eight straight awards from 1994-2001.


Lindor, 22, led American League shortstops with an Ultimate Zone Rating (UZR) of 20.8 and was second with 17 defensive runs saves (DFS) in 2016. Overall he finished the campaign with a .982 fielding pct., making just 12 errors in 155 games (674 total chances). He is the second-youngest Indians player to earn a Rawlings Gold Glove Award behind RICK MANNING (21 in 1976) and the youngest Major League player since MANNY MACHADO (21 in 2013). He is the second-youngest Major League shortstop to earn a Gold Glove behind Detroit's ALAN TRAMMELL in 1980 (22.227 in 1980).


The award was voted on in September by seven American League Managers and Coaches from each of the fifteen clubs (staff members are not allowed to cast votes for members of their own team).

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this