THE BROWNS BOARD

Guitar questions

When I signed up to this message board I had no idea of the talented musicians on here (yes you too veracopter) and have some questions. Yes I look up the tab or chord music and figure it out myself but I'm not a pro. Now don't get me wrong I'm very good just don't play out and have never been in a band. I still like to tackle some songs I've always liked.

Some songs I like have been overdubbed where it makes it impossible to play it note for note. So my question is... Do you just learn all the guitar parts or just play one of them? Or learn all the parts and try to put your spin on it? Would trying to play the live version be more helpful?

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think it's better just to approximate the feel of a song and put your own spin on it than attempt to play it note for note.

Yes . A perfect example is "Long way to the top if you wanna rock n roll"

It was recorded on reel to reel so it's a half step down. I tried you tubing the song and different people were playing it in diffent keys. So what I did was try to play it with the cd. It's a simple yet weird song due to the dubbing. Crazy

I'll let the better guitarists than I that populate this forum guide you towards your answer :)

Mine would be about learning intervals B)

Thank you Eddie for taking the time to post. We know you're busy doing the grammy winning tour over there. Jk

I guess it really doesn't matter just a hobby for me just was kind of wondering how someone with more expertise would handle a song with different guitar parts. Lots of examples I'll post tonight Thanks guys seriously.

• 2 weeks later...