Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
The Gipper

Mythical HS National Champions

Recommended Posts

Here is the list of Ohio Schools who, in history, have won some sort of mythical National Championship. First it was done by the National Sports News Service, then USA Today and the National Prep Poll:



Cleveland East Tech 1920

Toledo Scott 1922, 1923

Toledo Waite 1924, 1932

East Cleveland Shaw 1923

Dayton Stivers 1925, 1926

Cleveland Cathedral Latin 1927

Canton McKinley 1934, 1997

Massillon 1935, 1936, 1939, 1940, 1950, 1952, 1958, 1959, 1961

Cincinnati Moeller 1976, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1982

Cleveland St. Ignatius 1989, 1993, 1995

Cincinnati Colerain 2004

Cincinnati St. Xavier 2007




Middletown 1956, 1957 (Jerry Lucas)

Akron St. Vincent/St. Mary 2003 (LeBron James)

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ohio Schools that have won baseball "National Championship":


Fairfield 1991

Toledo Start 1994


Softball "national championship":


LaGrange Keystone 2012


Note, Girls basketball national champions were being named in one form or another since the 20s. No Ohio school has ever won a girls basketball mythical national championship.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this