THE BROWNS BOARD

Why I love to see an offense fool a defense

calfoxwc

Way back in the day, true story, I was a statistician for football, with a friend of mine.

It was as close to football as I could get, since I always had a very bad knee and was

forbidden to play contact sports.

And the one time I went and signed up anyways for tryouts, the phys ed instructor gave

me hell about getting him in trouble with my dr, and my surgeon who worked so hard

on my knee - well, he was a lot madder when the school called and they found out.

Whatever - but one night, we were getting beat 40 something to three. maybe six.

Away game.

I was sitting there, disgusted, because I could call every play, with few exceptions, that

we were going to run.

It's true. Winged T to the right, run right. and the rb - when he had his weight forward,

in an I formation, they always ran straight ahead. He would shift his weight and stance

to the right... yep, ran right.

Now, with the usual two wideouts, and the rb with his weight and stance centered,

it was a pass, and the rb helped pass protect.

So, being bored and disgusted, I was pretty much calling every single play correctly

before it ran. After a while, my friend was laughing and saying "how do you do that"

Well, next to us, were two local sportswriters of local small newspapers - they were

shaking their heads and laughing. Eventually, one of them called down the row in the press box,

that so and so should fix his play calling, because "this kid is telling us every single play

before you run it" and they both laughed.

Well, one of em knew the asst offensive football coach? that they were talking to, and they joked about

it again, and the jerkface, stupid coach smarted off about me being a pu**y, and me being

so much a wuss loser I was afraid to take the field so I should just shut the f*** up....

and that my parents must be so ashamed of me for being not being a man, to be so afraid to go